On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can one head cover carpet and hard floors before the unit returns to an automatic-emptying dock?
Yes. The exact Walmart title identifies the Clean & Empty BU3120, and the manual names the BU3120 series and describes its auto-adjusting AUTO floor mode and dock.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the exact BU3120 offer establish a particular small tool or battery generation?
No. Shark says BU3120 spans incompatible 18V and 21.6V generations; the listing does not state the installed pack or a definitive tool list.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a strict hand-cup or carry-weight limit confirmed for this listing?
No. Generic station/overall fields do not establish carried cup volume or assembled stick weight.
Explore this need in the finder →The Shark Clean & Empty BU3120 is worth a look if you want a cordless stick that returns to an automatic-emptying dock and can move between hard floors and carpet. The current white U.S. listing identifies BU3120, but it does not settle every detail that matters to a long-term owner: Shark documents two battery generations under the BU3120 code, and the seller page does not provide a definitive small-tool carton list.
A mixed-floor route with one attached head
The product listing describes a multi-surface brushroll that adjusts for carpet and hard floors, and the Shark-authored BU3000/BU3500 family guide also explains the auto-adjusting floor mode. That makes this a sensible layout for a home where the same weekly route crosses wood or tile and area rugs. It is not a promise that the head will clean every carpet pile equally well; the available sources do not provide independent pickup tests or a measured performance comparison.
For above-floor work, the owner guide shows the hand vacuum detaching from the wand. That is useful for a quick pass on a stair, sofa edge, or car mat, but the exact BU3120 listing does not name every accessory in its carton. The guide explicitly notes that not all accessories come with all units. If a crevice tool, powered upholstery brush, or pet attachment is essential, confirm the model number and box list on the actual offer rather than inferring contents from the product family or a photograph.
The dock reduces one routine chore, not all maintenance
Clean & Empty's main convenience is what happens after the pass: place the vacuum on its dock and the system transfers debris into the base while charging. Shark's series guide describes that docking sequence and the separate tasks of clearing the hand cup, filters, floor nozzle, and dock. The base still occupies floor space near an outlet, and a dust bag or dock container must eventually be changed or emptied. The advantage is fewer hand-cup dumps between sessions, not a maintenance-free appliance.
The exact listing and available comparison do not establish a model-specific carried hand-cup volume; the base and hand vacuum are separate containers, and neither should be assigned a capacity from an unlabeled generic field. A station can hold much more debris than the small container you carry while cleaning. The retailer's generic capacity fields and overall dimensions do not give a confirmed BU3120 cleaner-head width or a reliable assembled-stick carry weight, so neither should be used to promise passage under a tight sofa or to satisfy a strict lifting limit.
Check the battery label before buying a spare
This is the most important version caveat for existing owners. Shark's official compatibility page warns that BU3120 units exist in both an older 18-volt generation and a later 21.6-volt generation. The older group uses an XBATR525SL or BATR525SLN battery; the later one uses XBTR625KSLN. Shark says the later battery is not compatible with an 18-volt unit. The current retail listing supplies a model code and a white finish but does not identify which voltage generation it is, so a model-name search alone is not enough for replacement-battery shopping. Check the battery and rating labels on the actual machine.
The Shark BU3000/BU3500 owner guide covers BU3120 series use and describes a roughly 40-minute maximum for a fully charged BU3120 series battery. That is a ceiling, not a promise that every floor-cleaning route lasts that long; mode, tool, carpet, battery age, and the specific generation matter. Use the control and care instructions that match your unit, and do not apply a new-generation battery or charging assumption to an older BU3120 just because the model code looks the same.
Where this package fits among Clean & Empty choices
Choose the BU3120 when the confirmed essentials are an auto-empty dock, a mixed-floor brushroll, and a stick that converts to a hand vacuum. Do not choose it for a specified small tool, a sub-seven-pound carrying ceiling, or a particular hand-cup capacity unless the exact offer supplies those facts. The matcher treats those fields as unknown rather than filling them from a similar Clean & Empty box.
If a named passive Pet Multi-Tool matters, compare the exact BU3521 listing, whose written package list identifies that accessory and separates the smaller hand cup from its base. If you want a different Clean & Empty configuration, BU3523 has its own separate U.S. listing and should not inherit the BU3120 battery or tool details. These are related designs, not interchangeable package descriptions.
Bottom line
The BU3120's strongest case is routine mixed-floor cleaning with less frequent contact with the hand cup. Its dock and convertible format are clear advantages for that route. The caution is equally concrete: BU3120 is not one universally interchangeable battery configuration, and the current white retail page leaves accessory details and several numeric fit requirements unresolved. Confirm the rating label, retailer carton, and available replacement parts before purchase; if your decision depends on a specific tool or a precise carrying measurement, a better-documented package is the safer comparison.
Key details at a glance
| Weight context | No inspected exact-offer source gives an assembled carrying weight. Do not use station or package dimensions as stick weight. |
|---|---|
| Automatic emptying station included | Yes |
| Explicit button operation | Yes |
| Exact reviewed configuration | Current U.S. Walmart listing identifies BU3120 White, auto-empty system, self-cleaning brushroll and HEPA filter. Exact small-tool list, carried cup volume, battery generation, installed battery and battery count remain unconfirmed. |
| Runtime context | Shark-authored BU3120-series guide states up to 40 minutes after full charge; conditions/mode are not specified in that sentence. |
| Floor-standing charging and tool rack included | Yes |
More specifications and setup details
| Configuration and availability | Current Walmart White BU3120 offer; verify the actual model and battery rating label on the seller unit. BU3120 was used across 18V and 21.6V battery generations; no generation is assumed for this offer. |
|---|
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Find a vacuum for the way you clean.
Choose floor coverage and emptying first, then add handling and supplied-tool needs.
