Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can one attached floorhead cover bare floors and carpet?
Yes. Shark describes two brushroll speeds for carpet and bare-floor cleaning; the series guide tells the user to select each mode at the floorhead pedal.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the owner manually empty the cup instead of using an auto-empty dock?
Yes. The exact in-box list has the vacuum and charging dock only, while the Shark SV2000-series guide describes cup removal and manual release over a bin.
Explore this need in the finder →Does this exact box include a small crevice tool for stairs or furniture?
No. Shark's exact SV2002 in-box list names only the upright vacuum and charging dock; separately sold accessory listings do not establish inclusion.
Explore this need in the finder →The SV2002 is a small cordless upright for people who want a floor-cleaning machine that stays in one piece. Shark specifies two brushroll speeds for carpet and bare floors, a charging dock, and a 0.7-quart dust cup. The trade is just as important: the exact box lists no crevice, upholstery, or powered pet tool, and the owner guide describes cleaning floors rather than a separate hand-vac routine.
A floor route, not an all-surface kit
Shark positions the Freestyle Max as an upright rather than a convertible stick. Its stated two-speed brushroll can cover a route that moves between bare flooring and carpet without changing floor heads. The SV2002 page lists carpet and bare-floor use, and the SV2000-series owner guide describes a floorhead pedal that cycles the operating modes. This is a straightforward choice if the main task is picking up ordinary dry household debris across floors. It is less compelling if your cleanup routinely moves from flooring to a couch, stairs, a car, or the tops of shelves: the exact in-box list is the vacuum and charging dock, not a kit of hand tools.
That difference is more useful than the word “upright.” A detachable handheld body with a supplied crevice or upholstery attachment gives a household another job it can handle. The SV2002 is not documented that way on its exact US page. Do not count the general-purpose product photos or the catalog of separately available accessories as included equipment. If above-floor reach is an essential need, compare a genuinely convertible stick such as the PowerPro Flex Reveal Plus IZ382H, whose reviewed package lists a handheld configuration and named small tools.
Two floor settings require a little attention
The owner guide says to turn the vacuum on with the pedal on the floor nozzle, then use it to switch between carpet and bare-floor modes. That gives the operator a deliberate setting for the surface rather than an automatic floor sensor. Pick the carpet setting when the task is embedded carpet dirt or stuck-on debris, as the manual directs; switch to the bare-floor setting when the head moves to a hard surface. This is simple, but the user—not a sensor—makes the choice. If you expect one machine to detect transitions without attention, the SV2002 page does not support that expectation.
The page lists LED headlights. Treat them as visibility lighting, not a fine-dust detection system or proof of the sort of dedicated dust-reveal illumination that some cordless heads advertise. Shark's text describes two brushroll speeds and headlights; it does not describe particle sensing, a screen, edge detection, or a bendable wand. Those are not hidden advantages to infer from the name Freestyle Max.
Short sessions and ordinary cup care
Shark's page gives a 0.7-quart dust cup and a published 10.3-inch cleaning path. The path figure is not necessarily the outside width of the housing, so it should not be used to promise clearance through a narrow gap. The page reports a 6.48-pound weight, but does not state precisely which assembled configuration is weighed. That makes the published number useful context, not a reliable threshold for someone who must lift the whole assembled unit below a strict limit. The similarly styled SV2002HRG is also listed separately with a different published weight and fewer populated specification fields; do not substitute its numbers for the blue unit.
The SV2000-series guide describes about three hours for a full charge and up to 20 minutes of use. It does not provide a verified per-mode run table for the US SV2002 listing. “Up to” should therefore be treated as a ceiling, not a promise of 20 minutes on carpet or over every battery's lifetime. This is a better fit for short rooms, spot routes, or a second vacuum than for a large home that needs long powered-head sessions before the next charge.
Emptying is manual. The guide instructs you to remove the cup, hold it over a bin, and release its bottom lid; it also says to empty after each use or when the cup looks full. The dock is a charging and parking aid, not an automatic-disposal station. The debris screen and filter are rinsed with water only and left to air-dry for 24 hours before reuse. That is manageable care, but it means a spare dry filter or time between washes can matter in a home that vacuums frequently.
Carpet, delicate rugs, and limits
The guide warns users to keep the powered vacuum moving over carpet and to test delicate or wool carpet in a hidden area first. Its two-speed brushroll is not permission to leave the nozzle stationary on a rug. As with any dry vacuum, the guide excludes liquids, sharp objects, burning material, and large quantities of fine dust such as fireplace ash. These limits matter more than a generic “multi-surface” description if a household expects to handle spills or renovation debris.
Who should consider SV2002?
Choose the SV2002 when you want a relatively simple, cordless floor upright, one floorhead for carpet and hard floors, a lighted head, and a compact charging dock—and when manual emptying and the stated short maximum runtime suit your route. Pass it over if the deciding need is a detachable hand vacuum, included small tools, auto-emptying, automatic floor sensing, a measured assembled carry limit, or long continuous cleaning. Check the exact model label and color on the seller's carton: the rose-gold SV2002HRG is a separate listing, and its page does not publish the same full set of numerical specifications.
Sources: Shark's US SV2002 page and the Shark-authored SV2000 Series Owner's Guide. The guide is a series document rather than an exact SV2002 suffix manual; the model-specific page controls this review's package description.
Key details at a glance
| Weight context | The exact Shark page publishes 6.48 lb but does not state the weighed configuration; it is not used as a confirmed assembled-stick weight ceiling. |
|---|---|
| Published nominal bin volume | 0.7 US qt |
| Batteries included | 1 |
| Automatic emptying station included | No |
| Bending wand | No |
| Explicit button operation | No |
| Explicit edge detection | No |
| Particle-count display | No |
| Exact reviewed configuration | Exact SV2002 US page: Nordic Blue cordless upright vacuum and charging dock. It lists one battery and 0.7 qt nominal cup; no small tool or auto-empty station appears in the exact in-box list. |
| Runtime context | Shark's SV2000-series guide says up to 20 minutes and about three hours for a full charge; it does not give an exact SV2002 mode-by-mode powered-head runtime. Treat the maximum as a ceiling. |
| Floor-standing charging and tool rack included | No |
| Manual debris compaction | No |
| Powered mop supplied | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Find a vacuum for the way you clean.
Choose floor coverage and emptying first, then add handling and supplied-tool needs.
